Statement of Intent – Diabetes

After the two projects that simply didn’t work, for reasons previously explained, I have now begun the third and final mixed media project.  This one is close to my heart, it may seem like a strange idea and slightly bizarre to record, but I think it represents a voice, a voice that needs hearing, and understanding. Diabetes, is something that currently, I am being tested for.  I spend most of my days shattered, endlessly drinking litre upon litre of water, and repeatedly weeing thick honey like urine.  Too much info, I know.  But the point is, it scares me, I can have days where I feel great, and others where I cant move for being so knackered.  Now, I don’t know if it will definitely result in diabetes, and I am being tested for many other things, but it got me interested.  Interested to explore, to find out that I actually come from a long line of diabetes sufferers.  And that it is a lot more serious and scary then just watching how much sugar you eat. So, this will be a direct insight into the life of a diabetes sufferer, as close as I can get as to understand what they go through, what it means and how it has developed and changed both their lives and the life of those around them.  I will be recording sufferers through video and making a video clip, interspersed with photographs, showing and listening to how they feel and live.

Leave a Reply

